Active Low-Carber Forums
Atkins diet and low carb discussion provided free for information only, not as medical advice.
Home Plans Tips Recipes Tools Stories Studies Products
Active Low-Carber Forums
A sugar-free zone

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums.
Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

Go Back   Active Low-Carber Forums > Main Low-Carb Diets Forums & Support > Low Carb Health & Technical Forums > Dr.Bernstein & Diabetes
User Name
Password
FAQ Members Calendar Search Gallery My P.L.A.N. Survey

#1   ^
Old Tue, Nov-15-11, 13:16

Plan: Atkins BSCP/Paleo
Stats: 225/192/140 Female 64 inches
BF:
Progress: 39%
Question a blood sugar question

I'm fairly new to blood glucose monitoring. I was diagnosed with metabolic syndrome last year and I decided this summer to do something about it.
I tested my blood sugar yesterday morning after fasting - 4.6mmols/L. Then last night, prior to eating my evening meal - 4.6 mmols/L.
I ate my evening meal, lamb, steamed veggies -cabbage, spinach & a very small portion of pumpkin (2 ounces maximum).
Coffee & cream to follow.
I tested my blood sugar again after 2 hours - 5.8 mmols/L. So far, so good.
I ate and drank nothing else, and went to bed. This morning, after 10 hours fasting, my blood sugar was still 5.8 mmols/L.
The meter is new, I've been using it for only 3 or 4 days, and I'm sure it is functioning normally. I don't understand why my fasting blood sugar was so high this morning? Does it sound right to you guys?
Sponsored Links
  #2   ^
Old Tue, Nov-15-11, 16:23

Plan: Atkins
Stats: 265/231/175 Male 72 inches
BF:265/231/175
Progress: 38%

In my unprofessional opinion, you are pretty close to normal