Active Low-Carber Forums
Atkins diet and low carb discussion provided free for information only, not as medical advice.
Home Plans Tips Recipes Tools Stories Studies Products
Active Low-Carber Forums
A sugar-free zone

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums.
Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

Go Back   Active Low-Carber Forums > Main Low-Carb Diets Forums & Support > Low-Carb Support Focus Groups > LC Parenting & Pregnancy
User Name
Password
FAQ Members Calendar Mark Forums Read Search Gallery My P.L.A.N. Survey

#1   ^
Old Fri, Apr-23-10, 12:05

Plan: Paleo/Primal
Stats: 226/181.5/150 Female 5'7"
BF:Why yes it is!
Progress: 59%
Default HORRIFIED by CDA recommendations...a rant

Hi everyone, I'm new to this thread, and I'm really glad I found it. My 10 yr old son was diagnosed with type 1 diabetes last year. He is otherwise fit. Folks, you just won't believe (or maybe you would believe) the recommendations we have received from the Canadian Diabetes Association via the local "nutritionist." Their food recommendations had him eating over 300 grams of carbs per day! Insane!!!! I've confronted them over and over again and said that it's way too many carbs (actually, just way too much food) and have cut back, cut back, cut back. Consequentially my son eats more healthy foods, a greater variety of foods, and requires less insulin. I'm a rebel, I guess.