Active Low-Carber Forums
Atkins diet and low carb discussion provided free for information only, not as medical advice.
Home Plans Tips Recipes Tools Stories Studies Products
Active Low-Carber Forums
A sugar-free zone

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums.
Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

Go Back   Active Low-Carber Forums > Main Low-Carb Diets Forums & Support > New Members & Low-Carbers > Newbies' Questions
User Name
Password
FAQ Members Calendar Mark Forums Read Search Gallery My P.L.A.N. Survey

#1   ^
Old Wed, Apr-15-20, 08:10
Registered Member

Plan: none
Stats: 199/201/160 Male 68
BF:
Progress: -5%
Default IF standalone

I have been eating a somewhat casual low carb diet for a few months without really losing any weight. I added a 16/8 intermittent fasting about a month ago and still have not seen any weight loss. I know that in addition to low carb, for me to lose weight, I will have to reduce calories, or add exercise, or go full keto but that is not really the point of this post. As I mentioned, adding IF hasn't really made any difference for me as far as weight loss. I see a lot of people online promoting IF but they usually have also incorporated some other changes such as keto or exercise. I'm curious if anyone has tried IF without also making other changes, or does IF really need to be used as one piece of an overall change?
Sponsored Links
  #2   ^
Old Wed, Apr-15-20, 08:23

Plan: LerC, TRE, IF
Stats: 150/120/120 Female 64 inches
BF:
Progress: 100%

I lost weight on IF before going low carb. I did 19/5 though; I don't think I would have lost much if anything on 16/8. I did do some jogging but not a rigid program.