Active Low-Carber Forums
Atkins diet and low carb discussion provided free for information only, not as medical advice.
Home Plans Tips Recipes Tools Stories Studies Products
Active Low-Carber Forums
A sugar-free zone

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums.
Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

Go Back   Active Low-Carber Forums > Main Low-Carb Diets Forums & Support > Low Carb Health & Technical Forums > Cholesterol, Heart Disease
User Name
Password
FAQ Members Calendar Search Gallery My P.L.A.N. Survey

#1   ^
Old Sun, Feb-03-08, 06:37
Getting Healthy!

Plan: General LC
Stats: 213/169/166 Female 5' 8.5"
BF:
Progress: 94%
Wink Cholesterol Results (1 month back on low carb)

I've been eating low carb since July 2002, but in 2007 I got seriously off track. I had a lot of stress in my life and little time. I started eating junk and not exercising routinely.

I decided to get back in shape for 2008. The stress is still present, more than ever, but I decided that I have to put me first and I'm dealing with it by exercise and soaks in a hot tub. On January 1, I took a home cholesterol test, just to check on how I was doing. My total cholesterol had always been around 200, not great but not horrible either. I was shocked when the test went way over 300, beyond where it could measure. It had been about 200 only 6 months earlier, but I had eaten especially poorly during the holiday season.