Active Low-Carber Forums
Atkins diet and low carb discussion provided free for information only, not as medical advice.
Home Plans Tips Recipes Tools Stories Studies Products
Active Low-Carber Forums
A sugar-free zone

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums.
Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

Go Back   Active Low-Carber Forums > Main Low-Carb Diets Forums & Support > Local Low-Carbers & Support Groups > Australia / New Zealand
User Name
Password
FAQ Members Calendar Mark Forums Read Search Gallery My P.L.A.N. Survey

#1   ^
Old Sat, Jun-26-04, 21:32

Plan: own modified
Stats: 238/212/176 Female 180
BF:
Progress: 42%
Question Carb Count on Australian food labels

I'm fairly new to serious low carbing and am curious about the count on labels. On Australian labels does the carbohydrate count include the fibre or not.

For example if a label states
30 g carbohdryate
6 g fibre

do I deduct the 6 from 30 giving a count of 24?

Also I have been looking at sugar free sweets and notice that under carbohydrate it says 0, however it then goes on to list a number of grams under something ending in ose (can't remember the exact word). I thought that words ending in 'ose' were sugar so should they be counted.

Thank you.
Sponsored Links
  #2   ^
Old Sat, Jun-26-04, 22:00

Plan: Protein Power
Stats: 250/190/185 Male 6' 1"
BF:30+/16/15
Progress: 92%

Hi Alex,

Don't subtract fibre on Australian or European foods as it is calculated separately.