Active Low-Carber Forums
Atkins diet and low carb discussion provided free for information only, not as medical advice.
Home Plans Tips Recipes Tools Stories Studies Products
Active Low-Carber Forums
A sugar-free zone

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums.
Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

Go Back   Active Low-Carber Forums > Main Low-Carb Diets Forums & Support > Low Carb Health & Technical Forums > Dr.Bernstein & Diabetes
User Name
Password
FAQ Members Calendar Search Gallery My P.L.A.N. Survey

#1   ^
Old Thu, Feb-19-09, 15:54

Plan: paleo
Stats: 134/143/154 Male 183cm
BF:
Progress:
Default Introducing Myself

Hi all!

I'm new to this diabetes business, was diagnosed in the beginning of 2009. I still don't know what type I have, but I guess that it's LADA, I have GAD65 antibodies but I've read that those can come from other problems, but since there seem to be quite more types, who really knows.

I'm quite fed up, always have been, with western school medicine, as they will prescribe you things that will harm you and may even be of no use, but it largely ignores the potent things that nature gives us.

I'm glad I've found this quite alternative forum, where people are open minded and seem to try out things "not approved".

For now I'm using Bitter Melon extract pills with quite some success, sometimes too much success

I plan to use organic vanadium compounds (BMOV, BEOV, BPOV, etc...) since I've read that in animal and human studies they've shown results and some studies suggest that they may even help in the regeneration of beta cells.

I'm not on insulin, take only supplements and follow a low carb/low gi/high fat diet.