Active Low-Carber Forums
Atkins diet and low carb discussion provided free for information only, not as medical advice.
Home Plans Tips Recipes Tools Stories Studies Products
Active Low-Carber Forums
A sugar-free zone

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums.
Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

Go Back   Active Low-Carber Forums > Main Low-Carb Diets Forums & Support > Exercise Forums: Active Low-Carbers > Beginner/Low Intensity
User Name
Password
FAQ Members Calendar Search Gallery My P.L.A.N. Survey

#1   ^
Old Sat, May-24-03, 19:33

Plan: Atkin's
Stats: 205/205/130
BF:42%/42%/13%
Progress: 0%
Default My hypothesis for endurance exercise

Hi!
I just started training for a marathon! I'm pretty heavy and quickly realized I need to drop weight fast. I decided on Atkin's because hear about the quick results. Of course, we always here you MUST carbo load for endurance exercises. Well, here is my hypothesis. As I understand it, the phenomenom of "hitting the wall" is when your body has used up all it's glycogen stores, and is now trying to access your fat stores. Well, if we are in a state of ketosis and have surplus fat stores wouldn't we avoid hitting the wall beacause we would have already been burning fat for energy? Is this too simplistic? I noticed alot of you experienced endurance exercersicers still include some carbs for the long haul. Thanks for your input! Sincerely, Lisa
Sponsored Links
  #2   ^
Old Sat, May-24-03, 19:59
Registered Member

Plan: Atkins
Stats: 265/224.1/205 Male 70 inches
BF:39%/27.1%/20%
Progress: 68%

Hello Lisa,

Yes and No.