Active Low-Carber Forums

Active Low-Carber Forums (http://forum.lowcarber.org/index.php)
-   Success Stories (http://forum.lowcarber.org/forumdisplay.php?f=86)
-   -   I've been low-carbing for 20 years! (http://forum.lowcarber.org/showthread.php?t=485147)

Dodger Tue, Jan-25-22 09:01

I've been low-carbing for 20 years!

It doesn't seem that long ago to me.
Before I tried reducing my carb intake, I was doing the low-fat dieting regime and finding that my weight was not really going down, my blood chemistry was getting worse, I was on more prescription drugs and my food tasted horrible.
My physician, who had originally put me on low-fat, suggested that I switch to low-carb eating. I resisted at first but he then gave me a copy of Gary Taubes' article "What if It's All Been a Big Fat Lie" and my thinking about not eating fat started to change. My physician then gave me a glucose tolerance test which showed that my blood glucose was within limits but my insulin level was extremely high to keep the glucose down. I was definitely on the way to diabetes.
Once I decided to switch from low-fat to low-carb, I got the book (Dr. Atkins' New Diet Revolution) and started doing the induction phase. I went through all my cabinets and got rid of all the bread, pasta, rice, flour, etc. that I no longer could eat. I was surprised at how many bags of brown rice I had.
I started losing weight and my food tasted much better. I didn't limit myself on how much to eat, just ate until I was full.
After the induction phase was over, I tried slowly increasing my carb intake but found that I started gaining weight so I went back to the induction carb level. I didn't miss eating carbs and I really enjoyed the higher fat foods.
After about 6 weeks, I noticed that my bicycling speeds had increased on the climbs and I felt more energetic.
At my next blood draw, all my lipids had improved and my blood glucose was lower.