Active Low-Carber Forums
Atkins diet and low carb discussion provided free for information only, not as medical advice.
Home Plans Tips Recipes Tools Stories Studies Products
Active Low-Carber Forums
A sugar-free zone

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums.
Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

Go Back   Active Low-Carber Forums > Main Low-Carb Diets Forums & Support > Exercise Forums: Active Low-Carbers > Advanced/High Intensity
User Name
Password
FAQ Members Calendar Search Gallery My P.L.A.N. Survey

#1   ^
Old Mon, May-24-10, 22:20

Plan: Atkins
Stats: 220/200/195 Male 6'0"
BF:
Progress:
Default Energy foods

Hi, new guy here. I've been doing the low carb thing off and on for many years now. Never ceases to amaze me how fast my blood preasure drops as well as the pounds. I'm committed to the life style for over all health as much as the typical weight loss benifits. My question is this. I'm an avid hiker and outdoorsman. All the products suchas trail mix and energy bars are typically high in refined sugar. I assume during a hard hike that I would burn off the excess carbs in these products but I'm convinced that the sugar is a really bad thing to ingest regardless of activity level. What would you folks recommend as a good food to take along that isn't packed with sugar and would still replenish ones energy. I keep hearing that the body can only burn carbs or fats for energy and fat burning is inefficient. What's the best comprimise? Thanks in advance for some replies.
Sponsored Links
  #2   ^
Old Tue, May-25-10, 15:07

Plan: UDS
Stats: 199/190/190 Male 69
BF:12%/11%/6%
Progress: 100%

Personally, I wouldn't worry about specific foods to eat. Eat normally.