Active Low-Carber Forums
Atkins diet and low carb discussion provided free for information only, not as medical advice.
Home Plans Tips Recipes Tools Stories Studies Products
Active Low-Carber Forums
A sugar-free zone

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums.
Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

Go Back   Active Low-Carber Forums > Main Low-Carb Diets Forums & Support > New Members & Low-Carbers > Introduce Yourself
User Name
Password
FAQ Members Calendar Search Gallery My P.L.A.N. Survey

#1   ^
Old Tue, Jul-03-07, 15:23

Plan: Atkins
Stats: 153/142/130 Female 5 feet 6 inches
BF:
Progress: 48%
Wink New beginner

Hi there this is my first time trying a low carb diet. I don't know what to expect but I am hoping for good results. I just started the diet last week and so far I don't have results but I am assuming that is normal.
I currently am having less than 20 carbs a day. If anyone has any suggestions on what food to eat that would be great. I do notice myself getting a little light headed at times is that normal? I would appreciate any feedback or suggestions because I am new to this thank you..
Sponsored Links
  #2   ^
Old Tue, Jul-03-07, 16:03

Stats: 185.8/185.8/160 Female 69 inches
BF:
Progress: 0%

Welcome, rmarie! Glad you have chosen this way of eating (WOE)! After induction the lightheaded feeling (caused by carb detox) will go away. My main advice in terms of eating is to try to cook more often. For example, on Sunday I made a 3-pound roast beef and have been snacking on it since. Eggs (in their various forms) are always great (omelets, frittatas, scrambles, hardboiled eggs, etc). Having lots of home cooked LC foods on hand at all times is essential.