Active Low-Carber Forums
Atkins diet and low carb discussion provided free for information only, not as medical advice.
Home Plans Tips Recipes Tools Stories Studies Products
Active Low-Carber Forums
A sugar-free zone

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums.
Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

Go Back   Active Low-Carber Forums > Main Low-Carb Diets Forums & Support > Low Carb Health & Technical Forums > Thyroid Disease
User Name
Password
FAQ Members Calendar Search Gallery My P.L.A.N. Survey

#1   ^
Old Sat, Jun-07-03, 21:08

Plan: sommersizing
Stats: 220/210/150
BF:
Progress: 14%
Smile Synthroid, Cytomel User

Hi:
I'm new to this so hope I'm getting this in the right forum.
I was diagnosed as hypothyroid about a year and a half ago after quitting smoking. My research on this says that this sometimes triggers a thyroid storm as it did in my case.
The diagnosis was part of a routine annual physical. I asked my doctor to do a thyroid test since it runs in my family.
He called me after the test to inform me that my TSH count was extremely high - in the 9 area and I needed to get started on medication immediately. I started on the Synthroid and became extremely depressed! To the point where I felt like I was walking around in a fog. The symptoms did not clear up with longer usage and I started doing some of my own research.
I discovered that some people do not do well on just the one thyroid hormone, T3 and need to have T4 added.
I bought Mary Shomon's book Living Well With Hypothyroidism: What Your Doctor Doesn't Tell You ... It is probably one of the best books about Thyroid disorders ever. She also has a website
http://thyroid.about.com/mbody.htm