Active Low-Carber Forums
Atkins diet and low carb discussion provided free for information only, not as medical advice.
Home Plans Tips Recipes Tools Stories Studies Products
Active Low-Carber Forums
A sugar-free zone

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums.
Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

Go Back   Active Low-Carber Forums > Main Low-Carb Diets Forums & Support > Low Carb Health & Technical Forums > Vegetarian Low Carbers
User Name
Password
FAQ Members Calendar Search Gallery My P.L.A.N. Survey

#1   ^
Old Sat, Jun-05-04, 21:33

Plan: Hypoglycemic restriction
Stats: 155/135/130 Female 5'8"
BF:
Progress: 80%
Question Complicated- Hypoglycemic

Hi all! I've been restricting my carbohydrates for about two years now to control functional hypoglycemia. However, as I am not losing weight, I have grown concerned with the quantity of saturated fat I consume, as well as the way major meat suppliers treat their animals.

I am trying to eliminate beef, pork, and most poultry products out of my diet. However, the hypoglycemia complicates things as I must accompany my carbs with protein and/or fat. Additionally, my fiancee (live-in) is unable to eat legumes due to gout and is mildly lactose-intolerant, and I seem to have some sort of wheat sensitivity, even in a low-carb context. Also, I do not like tofu (the texture is very unappealing for me).

Help? I've made some headway toward reducing my meat consumption--filling out soups and pilafs with beans, nuts, and mushrooms. Does anyone know of any vegetarian low carb cookbooks? I'm ok with eating fish, seafood, eggs, and some dairy.

Is anyone in a similar situation? Any suggestions? Thank you in advance to anyone who can offer ideas!
Sponsored Links