Active Low-Carber Forums
Atkins diet and low carb discussion provided free for information only, not as medical advice.
Home Plans Tips Recipes Tools Stories Studies Products
Active Low-Carber Forums
A sugar-free zone

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums.
Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

Go Back   Active Low-Carber Forums > Main Low-Carb Diets Forums & Support > Low Carb Health & Technical Forums > Vegetarian Low Carbers
User Name
Password
FAQ Members Calendar Search Gallery My P.L.A.N. Survey

#1   ^
Old Fri, Dec-27-02, 14:19

Plan: THE HIGH PROTEIN DIET
Stats: 165/165/150
BF:
Progress: 0%
Question lOW CARBS FOR A VEGGIE

Hi, I'm new to low carbs, its still under a great deal of scrutiny here in the uk and I'm curious. A "naturally chubby" friend of mine who after enjoying a bit too much of good USA cuisine tipped the scales at 190. He's just returned to the UK for Christmas a lean 160 pounds singing the praises of the Atkins diet.
I was stunned, he hasn't looked like this since he was fifteen!
I've already read a couple of books on it and it sounds fine but the thing is I'm a vegetarian, and have been for decades so I have no desire to give it up now.
Is is possible to still follow a low carb plan provided I steer clear of the usual rice , bread, cereals and pasta and allow myself cheese, tofu and quorn?
If there is a vegetarian out there who has successfully lost weight on any low carb plan I'd love to hear from you and would gratfully receive any advice you may give.
Cheers then,
Lou (thewestbou)
Sponsored Links
  #2   ^
Old Thu, Jan-02-03, 12:41
Forum Moderator

Plan: Primal/P:E
Stats: 171/145/145 Female 5'7"
BF:
Progress: 100%