Active Low-Carber Forums
Atkins diet and low carb discussion provided free for information only, not as medical advice.
Home Plans Tips Recipes Tools Stories Studies Products
Active Low-Carber Forums
A sugar-free zone

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums.
Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

Go Back   Active Low-Carber Forums > Main Low-Carb Diets Forums & Support > Daily Low-Carb Support > CAD/CALP
User Name
Password
FAQ Members Calendar Mark Forums Read Search Gallery My P.L.A.N. Survey

#1   ^
Old Tue, Apr-01-08, 07:39

Plan: atkins
Stats: 165/157.5/129 Female 66"
BF:
Progress: 21%
Question New to CAD, Hello?

Hi there. I am new to this - just read CAD cover to cover last night. My body loves low-carb - it clears up my eczema and acne and reduces my weight! The problem is, as someone with a looooong history of eating disorders (I have been in recovery for four years) , I find that the restrictiveness of Atkins can trigger a lapse. I am hoping that CAD will allow me the psychological freedom to treat my body well without feeling trapped. For instance, when I am doing Atkins, I worry and obsess if I know we are going to someone's home for dinner because I do not know what will be served.

One question - does anyone out there do what Dr. Rachel Heller did to lose her weight, i.e. fast all day and then have a balanced RM? In the past, my body has felt healthiest and been at its lowest weight when I waited until dinner to eat. That seems to be my body's natural hunger pattern. Then all the "small, frequent meals" advice came along, and I plunged into insulin trauma!!!! Just wondering.....

Thanks so much.
Jean
Sponsored Links
  #2   ^
Old Tue, Apr-01-08, 15:45
MAINTAINING ON CALP

Plan: CALP/CAHHP