Active Low-Carber Forums
Atkins diet and low carb discussion provided free for information only, not as medical advice.
Home Plans Tips Recipes Tools Stories Studies Products
Active Low-Carber Forums
A sugar-free zone

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums.
Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

Go Back   Active Low-Carber Forums > Main Low-Carb Diets Forums & Support > Daily Low-Carb Support > General Low-Carb
User Name
Password
FAQ Members Calendar Mark Forums Read Search Gallery My P.L.A.N. Survey

#1   ^
Old Mon, Jun-19-17, 14:12

Plan: Atkins
Stats: 250/222/150 Female 65
BF:
Progress: 28%
Unhappy Help Constipation Is Making Me Want To Quit

I have been doing low carb for 5 months. Doing well except for constipation and thinning hair. I don't want to quit.... Help I am nearing 30 lbs. I need advice

Last edited by lgoldie : Mon, Jun-19-17 at 14:16. Reason: add
Sponsored Links
  #2   ^
Old Mon, Jun-19-17, 15:00

Stats: 240/188/185 Female 5'11"
BF:
Progress: 95%

I went through exactly the same thing a couple of months ago and almost gave up. Glad I didn't! I'm sure more experienced people will chime in with more helpful suggestions. I don't know about the hair issue, but I can tell you what helped me greatly with the constipation:

1. I quit ALL dairy (except for grass-fed butter). Dairy plugs me up from head to toe.

2. I started taking a magnesium citrate supplement, first in powder form dissolved in water but that got old fast so switched to capsules. I take 320-500 mg, which is about 80-125% RDA, and it does the trick for me. Some people go a little higher.