Active Low-Carber Forums
Atkins diet and low carb discussion provided free for information only, not as medical advice.
Home Plans Tips Recipes Tools Stories Studies Products
Active Low-Carber Forums
A sugar-free zone

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums.
Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

Go Back   Active Low-Carber Forums > Main Low-Carb Diets Forums & Support > Low-Carb Support Focus Groups > LC Parenting & Pregnancy
User Name
Password
FAQ Members Calendar Search Gallery My P.L.A.N. Survey

#1   ^
Old Sun, Jan-06-02, 15:36
Registered Member

Plan: aitkins but kind of modified
Stats: 72/62/58
BF:
Progress: 0%
Default very young children on LC??

My husband and I have been low-carbing for about 3 months now and totally feel better, healthier etc etc and want this for our children. My daugher is 3 1/2 and my son just turned 1. As we live in NZ we don't have the books available to us that are out there about LCing and children so I thought I'd ask if anyone had any info to pass on. As they are children I know they do need carbs for energy (and they sure are energetic kids) but how much?? We slowly substituted white bread for whole grain and rye and they are okay with that, but they still have Weetbix, Rice Bubbles or Cornflakes for breakfast and either some bread/pasta/rice with their lunch and dinner. So far we haven't limited fruit or anything like that - all we have done is cut out anything more processed than fishfingers...
Ummm, help! I'd hate to accidently harm my kids by trying to get them to eat better!
Suzy
Sponsored Links
  #2   ^
Old Mon, Feb-11-02, 18:42
Registered Member

Plan: Atkins diet
Stats: 215/206/110
BF:
Progress: 9%
Default Boy I hope someone answers you