Active Low-Carber Forums

Active Low-Carber Forums (http://forum.lowcarber.org/index.php)
-   Dr.Bernstein & Diabetes (http://forum.lowcarber.org/forumdisplay.php?f=45)
-   -   Question for people who are knowledgeable about diabetes (http://forum.lowcarber.org/showthread.php?t=427381)

Neanderpam Fri, Apr-29-11 14:16

Question for people who are knowledgeable about diabetes

I have been lowcarbing for over 11 years. I was a gestational diabetic 38 years ago (I'm 56 yrs. old, with autoimmune diseases: Hashimoto's, RA, OA, Sjogrens, Hyper IgE, Celiac, on steroid inhalers all the time, and presently on oral steroid with injection of Medrol 'as needed'). I was also placed on Metformin about ten years ago for a high fasting insulin (not bg) while I HAD to be on large oral steroid dosage, then weaned off the Metformin.

Anyway, to cut to the chase, I just saw my PCP and wanted to know what my A1c and BG was back when they took them in July. And I want to make this very clear: I eat NO sugar, NO gluten, no fruit (not even berries) and limit my gross carbs to less than 30 - 40 most days. I was not on any oral steroids at the time the A1c or bg was done, btw.

My Aic back in July was 6 and my BG was 98. I had fasted for well OVER 16 hours. I also had them do a fasting BG while I was there yesterday (I'd not eaten since 6pm the night before and it was after 10:30 am when blood was drawn).

I am just a little 'quizzical' at how my A1c is a 6 and my BG was 98..it's not ever been over say, 89 or so and I'd never had a A1c, that was my first. I have diabetic symptoms, I just had high pressure in the eyes and the opthalmologist kept remarking that he'd 'swear' he had tested a diabetic.