Active Low-Carber Forums

Active Low-Carber Forums (http://forum.lowcarber.org/index.php)
-   Dr.Bernstein & Diabetes (http://forum.lowcarber.org/forumdisplay.php?f=45)
-   -   Confused by doctor (http://forum.lowcarber.org/showthread.php?t=272468)

ArriS Thu, Nov-03-05 13:51

Confused by doctor

Hi, I’m new to all this, both posting and diabetes, so please forgive any mistakes.
I was Dx 7 type ll 7 weeks ago after a visit to the doc. for an insect bite that had developed into an abscess. Bg levels of 22.5mmol/L (405 US?).
10 days in hospital on insulin drip (plus antibiotics & lancing of abscess) and consultant was ready to send me home on insulin. Diabetic nurse persuaded him to let me give tablets a try and so I was given Metformin, 500mg a day, a meter and strips - we in the UK are very lucky in the fact that all is supplied free for diabetics - and a diet by the dietician stressing high carbs and low fat.
Religiously followed rules for the first week, with Bg creeping ever upwards to the 14-16 range and so hungry after lg carb meal that I wanted to eat the paint off the fridge. Phoned nurse and was told to increase Metformin to 1500mg per day and take ½ tab Gliclazide per day. Did this - fridge still in danger!
Dh, very supportive and disturbed by my bouts of weeping/suicide threats decided to put his troubleshooting skills to use and start looking for other options. First found the GI diet and we tried that. It helped, but only a little. Then discovered Dr Bernstein and what he had to say really impressed (dh also engineer - figures).
2 weeks on this diet brought my bg down to the point where they average 5.3, the highest being 7. Not perfect but certainly better.